By Gayane Melikyan
Photos by Karen Grigoryan
2019-07-28 11:16
Nuestras Felicitaciones, La Furia Roja!
The final match of the 2019 UEFA European Under-19 Championship was played in Yerevan on July 27. The venue was Vazgen Sargsyan Republican Stadium. The attendance – 7.150.

La Furia Roja and A Seleção das Quinas had decide the champion. This was quite unique event, as national teams of Spain and Portugal had never played with each other in the final of this championship, which is one of the oldest in world.

As for the squads of these teams, we should note that their players represent the leading teams of Spain and Portugal, such as Barcelona, Real Madrid, Valencia, Atletico Madrid Sevilla, Benfica, Sporting Lisbon, Porto, Braga. And not only some of the players of both teams play abroad in the following well-known clubs: Manchester City, Everton, Wolverhampton, West Ham United (Premier League of England) and Borussia Dortmund (Bundesliga of Germany).

The competition has been held regularly since its inauguration in 1948. Initially it was called the FIFA International Youth Tournament in the beginning, until it was taken over by UEFA in 1956. The inaugural champion of the competition in 1948 was England.

It should also be noted that Argentina is the only team ever been invited to participate in this European football tournament. It was twice – in 1953 and 1954. In 1954, by the way guests from Latin America won bronze medals.

The championship received its current name in 2002. Before in different times it was called FIFA International Youth Tournament (1948–1954), UEFA Youth Tournament (1955–1980), UEFA European Under-18 Championship (1981–2001).

By the way, Spain here is the most successful national team in Europe with 11 continental titles. They have won this championship in 1952, 1954, 1995, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019.

Here is the list of the 10 most successful teams in this championship. The second is England with 10 titles. France has won this competition 8 times, Germany – 6, Soviet Union – 6, Portugal - 4 and Italy, Serbia, Bulgaria, Hungary – 3.

So, 20:30 by local time in Yerevan. The referee Irfan Peljto, representing Bosnia and Herzegovina, whistles and the match starts. On the 34th minute Ferran Torres, representing Valencia, scored his first goal in this match. In the second half, on the 51st minute, he scored the second goal and the picture became already more or less obvious. Portuguese players did not manage to make a comeback in the remaining time.

The final whistle sounded and the Spanish footballers raised the coveted cup for the 11th time in the history of their performances on this championship.

Our congratulations, The Red Fury! Nuestras Felicitaciones, La Furia Roja!